How to Cancel Your
GitHub Subscription

In this guide we’ll walk you through the steps of how to cancel your GitHub subscription.

In the search to offer technological solutions that facilitate teamwork for software development, GitHub was born. Github is one of the leading platforms for creating open projects focused on applications and tools, whose primary function is collaborative, helping each participant to contribute a grain of sand to improve the code.

To enjoy all the services and features offered by GitHub, you can create an account and access the administrative options for access and billing. It is noteworthy that payments with GitHub can be suspended when required, and you can cancel the services at any time.

This guide will walk you through the steps to cancel your subscription to GitHub services.

About GitHub

GitHub is a platform that allows you to host the code of applications and developer tools. Its main feature is collaboration, providing more versatility and functionality.

As a user, you can download the applications, enter the profile created to get information and collaborate with the development since most projects are open-source, although you can create private projects. 

Open-source projects are hosted for free through repositories, though the paid version allows you to host projects privately.

You can access several free and paid products from GitHub:

  • Wikis
  • GitHub pages
  • Protected branches
  • Self-linked references
  • Repository information graphs

Steps to Take Before Cancelling

Before canceling your account with GitHub, you need to validate your own repositories. To do this, browse github.com/watching. Then make the backups you need of the projects you have active because once an account is deleted, you will not be able to establish the content.

It is crucial to take into consideration not having outstanding invoices. Remember that billing on GitHub can be monthly or yearly, you can upgrade or downgrade your subscription, and you have the option to manage the billing for your GitHub account.

What Happens to Your Account When You Close It

When you close your GitHub account, you delete all repositories associated with it and forks of private repositories, proposals, wikis, pull requests, and organization project pages.

Likewise, billing will end, and after 90 days, the organization’s name will be available for a new user or organization to use.

Canceling GitHub

Relevant Links:

Step 1 / 5

Log In

Go to https://github.com and log in.

Settings

Once logged into your account, click on the profile image at the top right of the page, and select the Settings option from the drop-down menu.

Select Account

On the left side of the menu panel, click on the Account option.

Delete Account

Scroll down to the bottom and click the Delete Account button on the Account page.

Confirm

Check the account deletion confirmation pop-up message. Now enter your username, and type the word “Delete” in the empty field. Then click on the “Cancel plan” and “Delete this account” buttons.

Relevant Links:

Contacting
GitHub

If you’re still having trouble canceling your subscription, you can contact GitHub via:

Manage your Subscription Payments with Mesh

Mesh Payments is the most robust SaaS payment management solution, where customers will have visibility at all times of the transactions made. Partner with Mesh Payments to:

 

  • Get personalized information for each SaaS subscription to optimize your spending in real time.
  • Use debit or credit cards to streamline transactions.
  • Suspend recurring payments with virtual business cards.
  • Manage every payment in your company with information, controls, and automation.
  • Improve payment workflows.
  • Save time and money by automating tasks.
  • Integrate services into a modern payment ecosystem.
  • Manage multiple receipts, reimbursements, and vendor payments.
  • Manage your travel expenses in one dashboard, and create custom policies with dedicated travel cards.

Cancel More Subscriptions